Fantasy Football Scoring

Fantasy Football Scorekeeping & Scoring Systems

Fantasy football scoring is varied enough to make it difficult to write about.

Every league scores things differently. Sure, there are a set number of variations of fantasy football scorekeeping, but the office league next door to yours is very likely to use a system much different from your own.

No matter how you score it, the point of fantasy football scoring systems is the same -- players earn points based on the performance they turned in during their weekly games.

In almost every scoring system, players earn points for passing, rushing, and earning yardage. Passing yards (and usually passing touchdowns) are less valuable in fantasy football scoring because they're worth about half as many points as rushing or receiving yards. Why is this? QBs normally rack up a ton of passing yards and are more likely to earn individual touchdowns -- in other words, fantasy scoring favors those players that put in a ton of work.

You have to worry about negative points as well -- negative points are usually given for turnovers and other defensive and offensive errors. Check your league's fantasy scoring rules for more info on that.

Special Teams gets in the game too -- kickers earn points for field goals and extra points made (and also sometimes lose points because of missed kicks).

Hopefully your league uses some kind of bonus system. Bonuses are a fun addition to fantasy scoring, and are given for particularly standout performances on the gridiron. If a QB Throws for over 300 yards (like Tony Romo did for Dallas in week 1 this year), or a kicker knocking a ridiculously long field goal.

Fantasy Football ScoringSo what does a typical fantasy football scoring system look like? Here's a breakdown:

  • 1 point for 10 rushing yards
  • 1 point for 10 receiving yards
  • 1 point for 25 passing yards
  • 6 points for a touchdown
  • 4 points for a passing touchdown
  • -2 points for every interception thrown or fumble lost
  • 1 point for each extra point made
  • 3 points for each 0-39 yard field goal
  • 4 points for each 40-49 yard field goal
  • 5 points for each 50+ yard field goal
  • 2 points per turnover gained by defense
  • 1 points per sack by the defense
  • 2 points for a safety by defense
  • 6 points for each touchdown scored by defense
  • 2 points for each blocked kick

One of the most popular "alternative" scoring systems is known as "pure yardage".

In a pure yardage league, touchdowns and scores are totally ignored, concentrating instead on each player's individual performances in passing, rushing and receiving yards.

Many yardage based leagues make an attempt to convert defensive stats into "yards", like giving a defensive player "20 yards" for a sack, but this smacks a bit too much of a points system for me and begs the question -- why score based on yards at all if you're giving yards to defensive players?

Unless you've been ignoring fantasy football media your whole life, you've read about "PPR". There's tons of material on the Internet and in print made specifically for "PPR" leagues -- PPR is basically just another scoring system (that pretty much exclusively scores the offense) which is growing in popularity. PPR stands for Points Per Reception.

The point of PPR is to level the playing field. In standard fantasy scoring, running backs are much more important than any other position player. PPR adds a ton of value to tight ends and wide receivers as well as running backs capable of catching balls out of the backfield. Check out PPR if you're bored with standard FF scoring, or are looking for a new challenge.

Fantasy football scoring is wide open. You don't have to follow the standard "one point per ten yards" formula. Talk to the guys in your league about making a transition next year to a new scoring system.

Fantasy Sports Hero is copyright 2006 - 2010. Please don't copy our content.

About Us/Contact - Privacy Policy